Breaking in to the Blogosphere.

Hey everyone!

My name is Lorraine and I am a 29 year old from beautiful Colorado, where I have lived for the last 7 years!
I am a fun loving Mom to two daughters, Alyssa who is 10, and Olivia who is 4.
I have an AMAZING and loving husband, Marvin, and we’ve been married happily for 2 years now.

11118608_10206116574014526_7347734251999337384_n

I’ve never considered myself much of a “blogger” and I certainly never enjoyed writing in a journal when I was younger. This all slightly changed when I entered college 6 years ago and realized that I had a passion for creative writing (read: poetry). I still am not much for short stories or long narratives, but I can bust out a limerick with the best of them. Okay, not really. I don’t really like limericks, but I do enjoy free verse poetry and telling people about my life and my family, and a lot of times that’s done through writing.

My story started 10 years ago when I was pregnant with my first daughter. I was 18 and naive about what that really entailed. I went from 140 pounds to 300 in just  months. I thought as soon as my daughter was born I’d drop the weight and have no problem. Boy, was I WRONG.

2015-02-17 12.20.03

I kept that weight on (and off, and on, and off) for 9 years. I was 240 when I got pregnant with my second daughter and 260 when I gave birth to her. By her 1st birthday I was almost 300 pounds again. I ate to hide my depression, anxiety, and loneliness, like so many other people in this world.

Shortly before her first birthday I met this guy who just thought I was amazing. Single mother of two, morbidly obese, and fighting depression, but he saw through all of that to the heart of me. As I became happier and more in love with how my life was going, I realized quickly that I needed to make a CHANGE.
I couldn’t walk up the stairs to my apartment without being out of breath. I couldn’t play with my kids. Even vacuuming the house was hard for me.

I started walking. Slowly, short distances, but I was doing something. I then picked up on the Couch-to-5k program and ran my first 5k and 10k that summer. I did programs at home, Zumba and Pilates that I had found on YouTube. But it wasn’t until I found T25 that the pieces really started falling in to place. This was a workout I could do in 25 minutes, from my living room. I was psyched. I lost 30 pounds, then 10 more, then 10 more, and I was feeling good about myself!

1008887_4963749167690_1719905327_o

I’ve now lost over 100 pounds, and while I still have weight to lose I am confident and HAPPY with my life and my journey.

I’ve learned the value of clean eating, and recently decided to take the vegetarian route towards even healthier eating.
This blog will be a window into our world, our family, our food (mostly vegetarian) and our fitness! I’m glad to have you along the way!

Leave a Reply

